Blog Posts

I had a very artsy weekend, but that's dangerous because every time I do, my couch gets covered in random art supplies that I am too drained to put away. The due date of my accessibility studies capstone project marches ever closer and I DO NOT WANT TO WORK ON IT but I gotta. Who would've thought college would be so much work?/j I've been obsessed with Pokemon Go recently for some reason. It's something to do, I guess.

My new job is incredible! Work is very fulfilling and my boss is an absolute peach! I am feeling great but I am also soooooo tired. I'm hitting the ground running for my last quarter of college. It seems that I am over the hill of senioritis, but there is a lingering fear that I will burn out. I have applied to my post-graduation job and am eagerly awaiting a response. With my roommate away, I need to go out of my way for social interaction and it may be difficult. To quote the great Mitski, I am holding my breath with a baseball bat, but I don't know what I'm waiting for.

I just got back from spring break and it was NOT long enough. I am so so so tired and I am being thrown full force into so many classes... and a new job! I got the accessibility assistant position I applied for and will be starting later this week! While I'm excited for this, I also wish that I could just stay home. I broke out the old Wii during the break and have been having a field day with old games from my childhood like Super Mario Galaxy and Mario Super Sluggers. I even figured out the hack to make online Mario Kart Wii work again, I just need to make my current Wi-Fi situation connect properly. The fanmade tracks have been lots of fun though, I especially like "Undiscovered Offlimit."

Hoooo boy. I have a job interview today and I'm excited but nervous. I've grown frustrated with my minimum wage job at my school's diversity center as I continually realize that we are nothing more than the university's PR team... in this new position I may ACTUALLY do something, and get paid more for it! I was recommended for this position as an accessibility assistant to a professor, which would be a great way to use my experience in my accessibility studies minor.

If I'm offered the position, I'm considering using it as leverage to improve things in my current job, but it's seeming better and better to just take the job! I feel for my current coworkers who are good people in a shitty situation, but I'm afraid I might have to jump ship. It's just for one quarter anyway, and I still intend to be a friend to all of them. Plus, once I don't have to worry about my job security, I can support their positions against their bosses without repercussions!

It's starting to set in that my life is about to hit me like a speeding truck. I'm salivating over the wage possibly offered to me by the job that I'm applying to. Spring is almost here and I'll have the apartment to myself. I know I should be preparing myself, but my brain has become addicted to Toontown Corporate Clash; alas, there is nothing I can do. At least I'm getting better at ASL! It's my third year studying it, so it's about time I feel some semblance of confidence.

I have some fun plans in the works for this site, but I have to be home to accomplish them and I spend the majority of my time on here when I'm bored at work. We'll get there though.

I just enrolled in my last quarter of classes before I graduate and I feel... something. I'm dreading the last bits of really hard work. I'm excited to finally be out of here. I'm dreading having to go back home to my parents and start my life. I'm excited to get closer to being out of their house for good. I'm dreading having my beloved roommate leave me next quarter. I'm relieved that I finally got my classes figured out. I'm excited because I ordered more beads last night. Unrelated, but exciting. I'm glad it's friday!

Hi again internet! It's been a busy week and I am EXHAUSTED. Just last weekend I ran my college's first ever 2LGBTQIA+ prom! It was tons of fun and it went better than I ever could have dreamed. I was worried at first that people might not dance, but my attendees ended up dancing so much that they BROKE the dance floor. What a good problem to have! 90 people showed up, which is incredible for my small-ish school.

Ever since Saturday, I have been slowly building up my energy. Despite way too much homework and an order of beads that got returned because I entered my address wrong, I'm still up and kicking (albeit very sad about the beads). May life be kind to me; I am so so so tired.

Howdy world! Welcome to my mess. In under 24 hours of knowing anything about code, I've managed to bang out a functioning website. I say that's something to be proud of! While unexpected, I think managing this place will be a great hobby for me as 2024 kicks off. Coding always seemed so out of reach for me; I tried to learn javascript on codeacademy back in the day, but couldn't figure out some part and gave up. Now that I'm here, can I just say, the vibes are immaculate! It's been so fun making this place my own and seeing what everyone else is doing! Pro tip: If you want great music to listen to while coding, check out the Paradise Killer OST. It does not disappoint! I've been rummaging through all my records as I work on this (to make sure that I'm getting up and moving a little bit by having to turn the record over) and I remembered that I got that album on vinyl for Christmas a couple years ago. Thanks B, you knocked it out of the park!

Unfortunately, between this and waaaaaay too much Splatoon 3, I've neglected the homework for the class I need to catch up on. College life is so good, don't get me wrong. But I can't help but yearn for the financial stability of the workforce. The brief stint living with my parents again is daunting, but soon I'll be out for good!

← Back to home